Exploring Your Specialties: A Divination Exercise

19 Nov
Every spiritual practitioner has specialties. What are yours?

Every spiritual practitioner has specialties. What are yours?

In the world of magick and conjure, it’s easy to get overwhelmed by the variety of methods and tools that can go into spellcasting. Of course, one should always be focused on getting results, but there’s also the matter of having fun along the way. Having a routine or methods that you build upon are highly suggested for working effective magick, but not stretching beyond those boundaries can leave your magickal practice stale and uninteresting. Magick works best when Younger Self (our subconscious, or our creative inner-child) is given room to explore (without going overboard into a cosmic mess). In my own experience, the injection of one or two new tools or methods into a working can greatly satiate the needs of my creative inner-child while giving our work an enlivening new boost.

Effective magick is rarely about that rare root or herb that you’ve heard about but haven’t been able to get your hands on. It’s usually about having the proper intention for the goal at hand and choosing the best avenue for manifesting it.

The directions a practitioner feels pulled toward are often good indicators as to what may be that inspiring new step for for them in their work . Some folks feel an immediate resonance upon their first seeing a Solomonic Seal while others’ love of mason jars naturally extend into a proficiency with container spells. A lot of folks are already aware of their particular affinity for particular types of medicines – I’m more of a plant person than a crystal person, for instance, but have tons of friends who can spot a crystal and its metaphysical attributes from a block away. Such knowledge often forms the basis of our personal workings, whether  crystal grids or traditional flora- and mineral-based mojo bags.

So what do when you’re looking to branch out and not sure what direction to go in?

Exploring Your Specialties: A Divination Exercise

For this exercise, you’ll need:

  • a multi-faceted divination tool like the Tarot or Runes (I prefer the Tarot because of the rich imagery it provides)
  • a pen and pad
  • about 30 minutes

Ask your divination tool (or the higher power you consult through them) “What specialties of mine would be best to explore in my spiritual work at this time?”

Then, pull 3 cards (or runes, etc.). Close your eyes and allow the traditional meanings of each divinatory sign to wash over you like a fast-moving river. When you feel calm and ready, begin with the first – write down the images and impressions that come to mind both from your original understanding of the card or rune and your own intuition.

For example:

the-moon-tarot

3-of-Wands

9-of-Pentacles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pulling “The Moon” might be a sign of your affinity for lunar magick and that incorporating moon phases into your workings might give them a boost. It could also indicate an affinity for doing work that helps to calm or ground turbulent emotions – you may feel inspired to try your hand at making dream pillows or learn techniques and tools for grounding, centering, and banishing.

The 3 of Wands may indicate an untapped affinity for working candle magick (many conjurers see Wands representing candles, Pentacles representing talismans, Swords representing incense, and Cups representing oils and baths). catherine yronwode’s recently published Art of Hoodoo Candle Magic would be a great resource if this is the case. With ships arriving in the background, you may  feel inclined to explore moving candle magick – the kind where one or two candles are moved closer or further away from one another over a period of hours or days. I personally associate the 3 of Wands card with road opening work – the kind that gets energy moving and invites general good fortune where there’s been ill-luck and stagnancy.

The luxurious 9 of Coins may suggest an affinity for talisman-making, or even the crafting of magical bath products such as as body scrubs and butters. It could also indicate your ability to do work that helps individuals build their self-esteem and sense of joy within the world.

Of course, these are just ideas. For each divinatory sign that comes up, make a list of all the words and images that surface in regards to it and then, start small. Don’t over-research; consider these as avenues for your inner-child to start exploring and see where your magick takes you this winter.

If you have any questions, I’m always available for e-mail and Skype-based magical coaching.

Keep Rising,
Khi Armand

6 Responses to “Exploring Your Specialties: A Divination Exercise”

  1. Asitis January 1, 2014 at 7:22 pm #

    I’m happy I read this posting as I’ve been trying to streamline what I do. Somethings just don’t work for me and I know it. I’ve always had an affinity for knots, so I’m going to see if I’ll be able to utilize that more. Another thing is seeing things in smoke. Like I’ve seen pictures of offerings people have posted online and I see images in the smoke itself. I always share what I see with them in hopes it will help. Hmmm maybe I need to try that for myself 🙂 Thanks again for the info. Have a great day.

    • Khi Armand January 2, 2014 at 4:57 am #

      You inspire me to write a whole blog post on knot magick in hoodoo! And you sound like a natural scryer – in smoke, obviously, but have you tried scrying in candle wax / remains (ceromancy) or even in a black mirror? Give in to your gift! look forward to hearing more about your personal discoveries. 🙂

      • Asitis January 2, 2014 at 7:40 pm #

        Hi, it’s me again. I have tried with a black mirror & fire – it makes me dizzy every time (which I know is because I’m not relaxed enough). I haven’t done candle wax in a long time, I may have to try that too. It’s funny because I’m trying the Pagan Blog Project too and in looking up A words there are are a whole lot of ways of scrying that I haven’t even heard of (I’ll try writing about that at some point).
        I want to try and do better with scrying then with tarot/runes. I can’t feel it. Playing cards I’m a little bit better.
        OH Please do write about knot magic. I don’t have a lot of information on it and am so interested in finding out more.

      • Khi Armand January 14, 2014 at 7:43 am #

        Thought you might enjoy this! http://heavenswithinearth.blogspot.com/p/knotrope-magic.html

  2. SunnyBunny January 14, 2014 at 8:19 pm #

    Well I must be doing something right because my dreams have been more vivid then usual for sure. I dreamt about some numbers that I still haven’t figured out. Last night I dreamt about a nonreflecting mirror. Got to work on getting this done faster – haha.
    But thanks for the link 🙂

  3. Hermitsocial October 16, 2015 at 8:15 pm #

    Hi Khi: Hope all is well. I really enjoy reading your blog. Definitely need to get a reading with you soon! I pulled Ace of Cups, 4 of Swords, and 10 of Swords. Hmmm, quite fascinating. Thanks for the spiritual exercise. I ordered your book from Amazon and look forward to your future postings. Many blessings to you. Jen

Leave a Reply

